Resist

Free speech is under attack in a very real way. Post something about Trump that someone does not like and you may well find, as I did, your home address posted on Facebook. You might receive an email with a printout from one of those background check sites, full of inaccurate information and the names of people you do not even know. Your ex-wife, who lives in a different state, might receive a phone call telling her that the Trumpster in question has “friends in law enforcement.” You might find this person plastering Facebook with your Twitter account, your Gravatar, copyright material from your blog, and screen grabs of your Facebook posts. If you report those to Facebook you are politely informed that they do not violate their “community standards” but that you have been blocked from posting for a week because you called someone a right-wing coward. When you report the harassment to the police they tell you that none of this is illegal. These are the same police who claimed that saying “fuck” on your deck is illegal (it isn’t).

I know who is harassing me. He is a local businessman catering to a knuckle-dragging segment of the community. He apparently feels that it is his responsibility to protect the world from my having more than one Facebook account. I have created multiple accounts because Facebook’s biased “community standards” result in my frequently being blocked from posting because I offended some thin-skinned yahoo. I am looking into pursing legal action against this person because I will not be silenced by a fascist bully. I urge everyone to stand up to suppression of their rights to speak their minds. We will only survive the Trump regime by refusing to back down in the face of right wing tyranny. And if the harassment continues, I will organize a boycott of this person’s business and that of anyone else who tries to stifle free speech.

Have a nice day.

2 Responses to “Resist”


  1. 1 pagesvoice February 6, 2017 at 06:12

    We seem to have a handful of right-wing zealots in the Southern Tier. I live in Endwell and know all too well how these people operate. It is obvious they want a one party system and that certainly doesn’t work for me. I have also been attacked because I stood my ground against them. I’ve had anonymous threatening letters sent to my home, but it didn’t deter me. There are few at Pressconnects who loathe it when readers have the nerve to disagree with them. I already know that one or more of them will be commenting if someone writes about progressive or even middle of the road ideals. Keep up the fight, Leo!

  2. 2 Leo Cotnoir February 6, 2017 at 08:02

    Thank you. Your support means a lot.


Leave a Reply

